12. What is the Department of Defense?

The Department of Defense (DoD) is responsible for defending the United States of America while helping to promote American interests globally. The department includes all offices and organizations that comprise the Office of the Secretary of Defense, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, three military departments (Army, Navy, Air Force), nine (9) Unified Combatant Commands, the DoD Inspector General, fifteen defense agencies, and seven DoD field activities. NSEP recipients have found employment in many difference offices within the DoD, including Defense Information Systems, the Defense Threat Reduction Agency, and the National Defense University. For more information on the Department, visit http://www.defenselink.mil.